In Depth Review | SsangYong Tivoli 1.6 Sport R

Small Crossover SUV’s are a tough segment. The mere fact that the size is unique and in a middle between a hatchback and a compact SUV. Fortunate enough, I was given a chance by SsangYong Berjaya, official distributor of SsangYong Philippines, to test drive the 2018 SsangYong Tivoli Sport R. So here are my thoughts about this fantastic crossover.

When I got the message from SsangYong Philippines and got an offer to test drive the Tivoli Sport R, I immediately arranged my weekend plans to give this crossover SUV a go. The day came and finally got the keys to the Tivoli. Let me tell you, first impressions really last.

The key fob itself is impressive. It is big and has a heft into it. Making sure that you do not miss it out since everything is keyless. Though it has a traditional key incase something goes wrong. On set, SsangYong was able to thought of idiot-free scenarios that might could happen in using the car.

IMG_20180629_110354.jpg

As I enter the showroom of SsangYong Quezon Ave., I was immediately greeted with the staff and offered me some refreshments while I wait for the review unit to arrive. On display was the Tivoli Sport R and the 2 variants of the Rodius to which I particularly interested as well. IMG_20180629_091915.jpgIMG_20180629_092219.jpgAnyway, I got the first close look at the Tivoli. It is a very charming small SUV. It reminds me of the Scion/Toyota BB that I drove years back. The looks are definitely modern feel. I like how the lines are defined to the whole look of the SUV.  The A & B Pillars are blacked-out for that floating roof design. Similar to the design aesthetics of the infamous MINI. But I like how SsangYong reiterated the design. Clearly, it is functional and at the same time, timeless.

Inside the Tivoli houses a whole bunch of tech features and nifty amenities that are ergonomically placed and laid out. The interior boast a two tone red and black perforated leather bucket seats and trim with piano black and silver plastic accents. However, the synthetic leather is quite firm for my liking. It is not as supple as the genuine leather but at this price point, it is okay.

IMG_20180630_145152.jpgWhen it comes to the technologies and amenities, the car is well equipped. First of, it has Keyless entry, Keyless stop and start button, LCD Multi-information display, auto sensing headlights, auto sensing wipers, dual zone auto climate control, Android head unit. Steering mode, Drive mode, heated leather front seats, 60:40 split rear seats, speed sensing power door locks, power windows, auto folding side mirrors, bunch of cup holders and deep center console and dashboard storage.

IMG_20180701_135304.jpg
IMG_20180701_134304.jpg
IMG_20180701_134039.jpg

The interior is airy and spacious. Me and my dad are 6 footers and we still have plenty of legroom, knee and headroom to stretch out. I sat at the back and one thing I noticed aside from the comfortable seating position is how the seats are padded at the back. It felt like seating on a sofa. It is soft yet firm enough to hug your bum for long journeys without making you feel tired. True Story.

IMG_20180701_133907.jpg

It took me a few minutes to learn the instrument cluster. The dials and switches are all labeled out well. Easy read-outs and ergonomically placed. The LCD Multi-Info display is also unique because the animations and transitions are entertaining enough. Truly, this is a millennial car. Also, it greets you when you enter, start and turn off the car. The icons used are well thought out that the attention to details are done precisely well. Even the car has a animated top side version in the display. How cool is that. Again, we’re talking about a full spec crossover SUV.  Powering the Tivoli Sport R is a 1.6L DOHC Gasoline engine mated with a 6 Speed Automatic Transmission. It has a Manual mode that you can over ride the gears for that sporty driving feel.

IMG_20180701_133907.jpg

First few hours on the road, I noticed how quiet the car is. There is a minimal intrusion of noise in the cabin. Making it comfortable to drive in and out of our busy streets. The driving position is also commendable since you can figure every thing out thanks to the telescopic steering wheel. I gave the Tivoli some legs to stretch when I went to Unisan, Quezon (my ancestral province). It was totally a blissful ride.

I left  Taytay around 12noon. After doing bunch of errands with the Tivoli. Me and my dad took the RIZAL-LAGUNA Route since the car can be tested in the twisties. First impressions really matter to me and this car defies everything that a Korean car brand can do. Well built, Solid, Pleasurable, Comfortable driving experience. On par with the high end competitors of this segment.

rhdr
IMG_20180630_154900.jpg

I do not feel that I am driving a cheapest small crossover SUV in the market. I can do a 50kph turn without me feeling car sick. Even my dad was surprised about its performance. He ask if I can trade my ride to the Tivoli. How I wish. Anyway, one thing really bothers me was the engine sound and the exhaust note. It felt and sound tinny for my liking. It pretty much lacks an oomph or bass sound when doing a hard acceleration. It sounded like it has an asthma. But the engine response and transmission were all good. It goes when you drop the accelerator to the floor.IMG_20180630_180250.jpgIMG_20180630_172646.jpg

Cruising around 100kph over some long stretch of Maharlika Hiway was a total bliss. Soft ride paired with a responsive engine is something that I always look for a car. As I approach the hilly turns of Bondoc Peninsula, I went on tackling precisely about the driving dynamics of this SUV. The ride is overall comfortable and nimble enough to make quick maneuvers over the twisty sections. Everywhere you look inside the cabin are something to feast your eyes. Modern, unique and at the same time, very functional. There are still hard plastics to mention but it is not necessary to be grumpy about. Overall the car handles, looks, and works precisely well as it is describe.

rhdr
IMG_20180701_145815.jpg

One thing also worth mentioning is how the car is very much a head turner. In every busy streets, open roads or even small barangays, people literally make a second or third look at the car. I felt so β€œgwapo” when driving it. My relatives was even impressed by it. Asking where they can get one already.

IMG_20180701_133407.jpg
IMG_20180701_133321.jpg
IMG_20180630_150808.jpg

As a small crossover SUV, I manage to seek a road where I can test its β€œoff road capability”. I saw some unfinished barangay roads that lead to a beautiful resort in Unisan. It is called β€œUnisan Sands”. More of it on my next driving blog. Tivoli absorbs the bumps with out a fuzz. Given its low profile tires. it is still comfortable enough not to toss you around inside. Of course, I drove as cautiously as I could and for me not to damage the car. Impressions went on all time high when I reached the resort.

IMG_20180701_140248.jpg
IMG_20180701_135955.jpg

For my final take on this amazing SUV. All I can say how this Korean brand changed my persona and definitely removed my connotation about Korean made cars. It is a solid, well build, well equipped, value for money crossover SUV that you might want to consider.  Given its 3 years Free Maintenance service and 5 year Warranty Plan. Priced at only PHP 1,080,000 for the top spec variant. This brand really wants to be an overall value proposition for the buyers of this segment.

PROS:

  • COMFORTABLE RIDE
  • SPACIOUS AND WELL LAID-OUT CABIN
  • THOUGHTFULLY-PLACED BUTTONS AND SWITCHES
  • 3 YEARS FREE PERIODIC MAINTENANCE SERVICE, 5 YEARS WARRANTY
  • SMOOTH ACCELERATION
  • GREAT NVH Suppression
  • CHEAPEST CROSSOVER SUV IN THE MARKET(BY THE MEANS OF BEING A REPUTABLE BRAND)

CONS

  • ENGINE AND EXHAUST SOUND NEEDS OOMPH
  • DEALERSHIP NETWORK
  • HARD LEATHERETTES AND CABIN PLASTIC

GALLERY:

*Shout out to Ms. Cherry Villaester from SsangYong Philippines for recognizing my blog and entrusting me this unit.

#behindthemanibela #Wordpress #wordpressblog #automotive #philippines #unisan #carblog #ssangyong #tivoli #tivolisportr #manila #travelling #quezonprovince #subcompact #suv #review #indepthreview #car

2 responses to “In Depth Review | SsangYong Tivoli 1.6 Sport R”

  1. Please make a review on JAC S7 and other variants. Nice review and next time please make a video review it’ll be more entertaining!

    Like

    1. behindthemanibelaph Avatar
      behindthemanibelaph

      Thank you for your inputs. Hopefully I can manage to squeeze in some clips fo the review. Looking forward to do more

      Like

Leave a comment

Search